Round Rock City Council Members Hilda Montgomery and Rene M. Flores took their oaths of office May 26 following re-election.

Montgomery and Flores were re-elected to their respective Place 6 and 2 council seats May 7. The election was canvassed May 17 by the council, making election results official. While Montgomery ran unopposed, Flores carried 60.86% of the vote over his opponent, Caitlin Leggett.

Both council members were sworn in by former mayor and current Municipal Judge Alan McGraw. They will each serve a three-year term.

Flores was first elected to Place 2 in May 2016, according to the city. He was elected mayor pro tem in December 2020. Montgomery originally gained her council seat in a 2017 special election.

Montgomery thanked voters for participating in the election, and family members coordinated a surprise appearance at the meeting.

"I want to thank the citizens of Round Rock for voting in the election," she said. "It is important and imperative that we take our responsibilities seriously. Then we come out, and we share in the responsibility of who runs our city."

Flores thanked his employer, Amplify Credit Union, for the flexibility that allows him to serve on the council as well as voters for another opportunity to serve the community and the support he received for his campaign.

"I'm always humbled by the nature of the campaign," Flores said. "People want to come out, help you, do things for you and offer you support, whether it's financially, emotional, there's a text or a phone call, just to say we're thinking about you."