Roanoke City Council has appointed seven citizens to serve as Crime Control and Prevention District board members.

During the May 7 special election, Roanoke residents voted in favor of establishing a Crime Control and Prevention District. Voters agreed to terminate the Roanoke Community and Economic Development Corporation to do so.

A 2002 Texas Attorney General ruling prevents the City Council from appointing a single council member to the CCPD board. The ruling requires the entire council to be appointed or none to be allowed to serve, according to city documents.

At a May 24 meeting, the City Council voted unanimously to appoint board members rather than to serve themselves.

Each council member, along with the mayor, appointed a resident to the CCPD board. Term limits for the board will be staggered, so the council drew lots to determine which appointees' terms will end on Sept. 1, 2023, and which will end on Sept. 1, 2024.

Angie Grimm, Victor Malashi and John Thompson have been appointed to the board to serve one-year terms, ending in 2023. Krystle Joyner, Sean Turner, Werner Rindfleisch and Deborah Brundage will serve two-year terms, ending in 2024.